top of page

Wunjo

Joy

Family for me


Family days

Memory making


Carefree

Activity


Flags on a sandcastle

Built at a beach


Joy to me is by the water


Memories of grandparents

And visitors from Essex


The best ice cream in the world

HOCKINGS!


Clotted cream and cockles shells

Dunes and pebble ridges


Northam Burrows

With grazing sheep and horses


The ponies take me to Dartmoor

To Exmoor

To Tarr Steps


Back we go to Instow

My school upon the Hill


Overlooking the estuary and ocean


Down on the beach

Building a car out of sand

A sand sieve for a steering wheel

With shells for lights

And pebbles for tyres

Seaweed detailing

All time with the cousins


We live so far apart

Yet claim this time

For all of us

To savour

To hold


Time with the Elders in the park

A wee turret


"I'm the king of the castle!"

With a reply of "Get down you dirty rascal!"


I stay at their house

Just the once


But it is a time

Of Ovaltine and gummy smiles

That shock me

The moment I become aware

Of what even are false teeth

As my Little Nanny

And Big Grandad

Laugh at my surprise


I remember them arriving

In their Orange Car


The BBQs

With sides of potato salad

Of tuna pasta and savoury rice.


The car pulling up

The kettle going on


I am taken to travels

Back up to family


The red lights of Membury

The road numbers by heart


The Water Tower

The fields of yellow rape


The old used to be windmill

Just after Little Grandad's allotment


Turning in

Pulling up


If morning the key in the hiding spot

Under the covered way

The smell of Sweetland's sausages

Engrained in my mind


Into the garden

The onions hanging

The coal shed

The cement path

Winding up the garden

The field beyond the boundary


If in the evening,

The door opened for us

The huge, great hugs

The step bag to take us on

How tall we've grown

How big we've gotten

Then back in the embrace


Ham huffers for eats

Pickled onions and wallies

The fire heat strength

Of the onions

Pickled to green spots that strong They make their own Nan dishing out a set amount So I don't eat the whole stock of them

Eating by the fire


The Ricicles in the cupboard for breakfasts

The apple juice from the coop

Strawberries - because they're Kayleigh's favourite


The picture I made hangs

Made of shells from the beach

A flower head of mussels

A stalk of a razor clam shell

The washy blue skies painted The comics saved from the paper to read when we visit Elbows off the table!! Everyone over for Sunday dinner at Nan's With her 4 rings, narrow sideboard, and average oven Yet feeds tens of people Whiskey in hand


The smell of the table protector as we roll it out The starting to crack and peel texture "How funny! Your foods never touch!" An early flag of my food based quirks Flags. Markers. Memories. Wunjo - the marker of Memory Lane


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page